What are the three categories of traumatic pneumothorax?


Injury pneumothorax refers to traumatic pneumothorax, which can be divided into three types: closed pneumothorax, open pneumothorax, and tension pneumothorax, as follows:

1. Closed pneumothorax

Closed pneumothorax refers to a lung injury or a penetrating injury to the chest wall that causes a certain amount of gas to enter the pleural cavity. When the wound is closed, the flow of gas stops, which is called a closed pneumothorax. Patients with mild lung collapse and a small amount of pleural pneumocystis usually have no obvious symptoms. If the amount of pleural pneumocystis is large, symptoms such as chest pain and dyspnea may occur.

2. Open pneumothorax

Open pneumothorax refers to the persistent open wound on the chest wall. The external gas will freely enter and exit the pleural cavity as the patient breathes. The pressure in the pleural cavity will change periodically as the patient breathes, causing the mediastinum to shift toward the healthy side and compress the lungs. Partially causing insufficient ventilation of the lungs, patients may have obvious symptoms such as difficulty breathing and cyanosis, and may even cause shock, and the condition is relatively serious.

3. Tension pneumothorax

Tension pneumothorax means that the injury site communicates with the pleural cavity and forms a one-way valve. When the patient inhales, the valve opens, and air enters the pleural cavity through the wound. When the patient exhales, the valve closes, and the gas in the pleural cavity cannot be discharged. This will cause the intracavity pressure to progressively increase, leading to severe lung compression, which usually results in In the event of respiratory and circulatory dysfunction, patients may present with significant symptoms of dyspnea, accompanied by acupuncture or knife-like pain, which may lead to respiratory failure.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *