Clinical staging basis for non-small cell lung cancer


The clinical staging basis of non-small cell lung cancer mainly includes T stage, N stage, M stage, etc.

1. T stage

T staging describes the size and extent of invasion of the primary tumor, and is usually divided into four stages: T1, T2, T3, and T4. T1 refers to a tumor diameter ≤3cm that only invades lung tissue. T2 means the tumor is >3cm in diameter or invades the lung lobes but does not invade adjacent structures. T3 means the tumor invades the pleura, pericardium, aorta, esophagus and other adjacent structures or the tumor diameter is >7cm. T4 refers to the tumor invading adjacent structures, such as the mediastinum, great blood vessels, chest wall, or the presence of multiple intrapulmonary masses.

2. N stage

N stage describes the involvement of lymph nodes and is generally divided into N0, N1, N2, N3 and other stages. N0 indicates no lymph node metastasis. N1 indicates hilar or ipsilateral superficial mediastinal lymph node metastasis. N2 refers to deep mediastinal or transmediastinal lymph node metastasis on the ipsilateral side. N3 refers to contralateral mediastinal, supraclavicular or inferior lymph node metastasis or the presence of distant lymph node metastasis.

3. M stage

M stage describes whether there is distant metastasis and is generally divided into M0 and M1. M0 means no distant metastasis, M1 means distant metastasis, such as metastasis to other organs.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *